Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Still having problems with levels/ fishless cycle

CourtneyLeigh97

Reaction score
So I've been trying to fishless cycle my tank since the start of the month.. these are my parameters in the last couple days, as you can see I've been struggling with nitrate and was recommended to do 4 bucket water change on 22nd, they were still high on 23rd and still high today... surely I can't do another few buckets water change? My ammonia is now 0 and nitrite low but if I add ammonia my nitrate will go sky high again, can someone please help!? I'm new to the whole cycling thing and it seems as soon as I get somewhere something happens, thanks

20/8
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite:5
Nitrate: 10-20
Ph: 7.2
+80 drops

21/8
Ammonia: 2 (add 50 drops) now at 4
Nitrite: between 2-5 still between 2-5
Nitrate: 80 now between 80-160
Ph: 6.6 (1tbsp bicarbonate) now 7.6
1 bucket water change

22/8
Ammonia: 0 (100 drops added) later 4
Nitrite: 0.50-1ppm later same
Nitrate: 160 now 20-40
Ph: 7.6 later 7.8
4 bucket water change and 100 drops ammonia added

23/8
Ammonia: 1/2 back to 0 60 drops added
Nitrite: 2 now 1/2
Nitrate: 80-160 now 80
Ph: 6.8 (1tbsp bicarbonate) later 7.6
3 buckets changed

24/8
Nitrite: 0.25
Nitrate: 80
Ph: between 7.2 and 7.6

MnGuy

Reaction score