stomach bulge, not pooping

axolotle42

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi my axolotl has a small bulge at bottom of their stomach and hasnt pooped in 5 days, is he ill? if so what should I do?
he is also shedding
my water parameters are
nitrate 30
nitrite 0ppm
amonia 0ppm
ph8
and the temperature was high but I have managed to bring it down to 20-21°c
thank you :)

Attachments

• 20210705_144703.jpg
    20210705_144703.jpg
    988.3 KB · Views: 157
Hi my axolotl has a small bulge at bottom of their stomach and hasnt pooped in 5 days, is he ill? if so what should I do?
he is also shedding
my water parameters are
nitrate 30
nitrite 0ppm
amonia 0ppm
ph8
and the temperature was high but I have managed to bring it down to 20-21°c
thank you :)
I'm no expert, but a pH of 8 sounds a bit high, ideally you want it to be between 7.4-7.6 I believe. Do you use dechlorinater/prime/conditioner everytime you do a water change?
Is he floating at all? What do you feed him? Is he eating normally?
He doesn't look quite right to me personally, but thats mainly because of the skin. Most axolotls get a bulge if they eat alot so that could be normal, but shedding isn't.

I'm no expert, but a pH of 8 sounds a bit high, ideally you want it to be between 7.4-7.6 I believe. Do you use dechlorinater/prime/conditioner everytime you do a water change?
Is he floating at all? What do you feed him? Is he eating normally?
He doesn't look quite right to me personally, but thats mainly because of the skin. Most axolotls get a bulge if they eat alot so that could be normal, but shedding isn't