Terrestrial Sals for CA?

CaudataCam

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Cameron
Hi everyone,

I'm unsure if this is the right place to ask this but I figured since I'm a beginner, I might as well post it here.

Okay, so I was wondering if anyone has any good suggestions for terrestrial salamanders or newts for beginners in California? I specify California because I know that Tiger Salamanders and axies (so unfair lol) are illegal to own here due to possible mixing with local species or something like that. If anyone has any potential suggestions, they would be more than welcome! I currently have dart frogs for a couple years and some alpine newts so I am a little experienced I think.

I would love to start a set up for some sort of terrestrial salamander or newt since the alpines are fully aquatic I'd like to try a terrestrial species. It does not have to be fully terrestrial but it would be preferred if it spent a good amount of time on land and maybe a little bit in water as well (semi-aquatic?). If anyone has any suggestions that would be great.

Thank you, Cam

I think it's legal to collect with a fishing license to collect California slender salamanders and Arboreal salamanders, but not sure about Arboreal though

Thanks for the reply, Sith. Btw I like your name haha. Reminds me of some cool turtle Star Wars character.

I don't plan on getting a fishing license as I don't fish ever and I don't plan on fishing. Plus I'd rather buy a captive bred animal than a wild one. It's just a personal preference of mine.

So if you any captive bred ones I could buy legally that would be great.

Well, for that instance, you could look for fire salamanders (Salamandra sp) since they are mostly CB, and are terrestrial

I am from California too, so I can relate :D.