Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Travel with axolotls?

emptytank

Reaction score
I've been doing a lot of research for the past several days and I've been agonizing as to whether I would be better off waiting until I return from where I will be this summer to start my new life with an axie.

I'll be flying out to Utah, hopefully working in a university lab for the summer, either on the 29th or 30th of April. I will be driving back mid to late August. I am a student, but the apartment I will be living in this next school year will hopefully be my home until I graduate.

I want to know if it is possible for axies to travel for an extended period of time. The return drive, from Utah to Michigan, would hopefully take two and a half days or less.

I don't want to put my (hopefully soon) companion in any kind of danger or stress, so if travel via car isn't possible or safe, I'd like to know.

If it is possible, please let me know! I'm also in the middle of deciding if it would be easier to go with my original plan of getting a rat from a breeder this summer (before I stumbled upon some pictures of someone's lovely albino). I know I would be able to have a rat with me in my car with no difficulty.

If anyone has an answer I would greatly appreciate your help!

gr33neyes

Reaction score
If you think you can carry out water changes and general care of your axolotl whilst travelling then there shouldnt be a problem but personally I would get the rat and wait till i could set my axolotl up properly in its permanent home. It certainly would be more stress free for the axie.

emptytank

Reaction score