Trying to save badly eaten axie

ElHein

Reaction score
Country
Norway
Hello everyone. This will be my first post, so I guess that I will start off with a short intro.
I just got my first axolotl two months ago, so I am far from an expert. I have a 50 liter aquarium in which Kraken, my first lives. Used to live on gravel but as it was apparent that he actually ate it he is now without anything.

Yesterday we went to look for a tankmate for our Kraken. His legs has been eaten off and pretty much all of the thin coating on the tail was gone. His belly was white and showed no sign of having eaten for some time. The local axolotls are white, quite transparrent.
His tankmate was much the same but it was obvious that he, the larger, was eating him!
So we got him for free along with another from another tank. Poor guy. But hopefully we can fix him.

So the set up:
Right now it's a black bucket with water around 17 degrees. Oxygenizer is running and we're planning on feeding him one cube of bloodworms daily. Gonna wash out the filfilth as well. What do you think? Anything else I should think of? He is for the time being separated from our other two. How long should we wait before we introduce them?
Lastly, does anyone have experience with extensive damages like these? Anyone care to make a prognosis?

Here's a picture of the poor guy

Attachments

• 20150405_205853_3_bestshot.jpg
    20150405_205853_3_bestshot.jpg
    57 KB · Views: 247
I would say just keep him in clean cool water, feed frequent small meals, and hope for the best. He will either recover or he won't, and your role is to give him the best possible conditions to maximize his chances to get better.

Thank you for your reply! Yes, I figured that would be my role in it as well. As it is now, I offer him 1 cube per day. The container is a bit small, but planning on changing some water every day. Should I rum the oxygenizer?