Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Water Hyacinth

VoodooJackal

Reaction score
Has anyone had any experience using water hyacinth (Eichornia crassipes) in an aquarium setup. Are they newt safe?

FrogEyes

Reaction score
This is a plant commonly associated with sirens...

Your issue isn't really salamander safety, but plant safety. This is a tropical floating plant which gets blasted by the sun. You need strong plant lights for it to survive indoors.

Chinadog

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
I've been growing these indoors for nearly 4 years now in all my aquatic/semi aquatic tanks.
They do like plenty of light but mine have been fine with a single growlux tube and still grow at temps down to 60F. The only thing they don't do is flower but they reproduce with runners so quickly i end up giving them away!
Once they get established they make a nice floating mat for newts to haul out on and most of them sleep in the root system just below the surface.

Attachments

• water plants 028.jpg
    water plants 028.jpg
    118.2 KB · Views: 25,874
  • water plants 023.jpg
    water plants 023.jpg
    67.2 KB · Views: 7,083

Chinadog

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
After having these growing permanently indoors for nearly 5 years i swapped my lighting to a modern LED units, the rest of the plants in the tanks have thrived but the water hyacinths have really suffered. The new growth is stunted and leaves are turning brown. Strangely, the water lettuce is doing better than ever so i don't know why the hyacinths hate the LED lighting so much?

Bette

Reaction score