Eastern Newt moving slow and doesn't seem healthy

FireChickenFinn

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi...I'm new to the newt world. We had two eastern newts that were purchased on ebay. They both were very active when we received them. My 11 year old was very excited. We have a 10 gallon tank that is lined with aquarium gravel. On one side there is 3-4 inches of water since they are mostly aquatic but we have a small area where the gravel is out of the water for them. There are a few living bamboo shoots to help with filtering the water. My son has been feeding them each a half meal worm by dangling the worm in front of them. They seem to eat about once a week. In the last week or so their activity level dropped. My son found 1 of the newts dead over the weekend. The water is fresh...I changed out more than half myself twice now and have also put a small in tank filter. The remaining newt moves very little now and his little eyes are very squinty compared to how we received them. Another thing worth noting is that the red spots on the sides of the newt seem to have lighted from bright red to pink or white. Thanks for your help in advance.

Hi,

I'm sorry that one of your newts died, and that the other appears sick. How long have you had them? How long did it take them to die and get sick? Were they wild-caught (likely with eastern newts) or captive-bred? Was your tank cycled before the newts were added?

Wild-caught animals can have a lot of parasites that might affect their health. That said, I would suggest these things:

-Don't use a submersible fish tank filter with newts. The intake can suck them into the filter and injure them. I use two sponge filters in my newt tank.

-Test the water for nitrates, nitrite and ammonia with a good test kit.

-Don't use gravel, which a newt can mistakenly swallow. I use washed play sand only with very large rocks, driftwood and cork bark as decorations and land, along with aquatic plants.