Hello friends

Jaruso23

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello I'm Joe,

I'm very new to salamanders and newts and joined here to learn more about them. I currenlty have a 75 gallon bioactive terraium with a running river and I'm looking in add some inhabitants to it soon.

It's actually a very neat setup with a big land mass held up by a false bottom. A pump pulls water out of one side of the false bottom and into the river feature. As the false bottom empties out that river water filters back inot into the false bottom on the left side createing full cicle around the tank. The is also an air stone burried under some rocks from the back left that keeps the water very airated. The attached picutre is after I first setup it up. It's grown in a lot but is mostly the same.

Oringally i wanted to get a ribbon snake to help cull my population of feeder guppies. But, the humidity is too high inside and id have to design a venting system which i dont want to do and if i did it would hurt the moss blahblah blah soi gave up on it.

Now im thinking amphibians. I still want something that will eat feeder guppies though. I'm fine also feeding crickets or isopods or worms from time to time as I also can produce those.

Any have suggestions of what i should put in here?? I was think red bellied salamanders or two lined salamanders. Something that can live its whole life in a tank this size.
20230418_212130.jpg

Last edited:
Thanks! I was think about them but had trepidations when I learned more about the skin toxisity. I dont plan on eating them but my malinois probably wouldnt think twice :ROFLMAO:
This setup has a full glass top though so i dont see anything escaping