Newts in Space

michael

2010 Research Grant Donor
Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Michael Shrom
A good friend of mine was asking me about the experiments NASA is doing on ribbed newts. I bragged a little about how some of my newts went to outer space. My understanding of the experiments are they are a continuation and coloboration of work originally started by Russian scientists. Some of the work is on tisue regeneration especialy spinal cord, muscle, and bone. Results report to it being faster in outer space. Other work is on viability of offspring and degeneration. I think the work has the potential to be important. Imagine if we could get "people" cells to grow like newt cells do. What could that mean medically?

I've supplied NASA with a few newts from another breeder and mostly with animals I produced myself. The project is ongoing and I think it is worthwhile. I'm not a scientist and don't kow a great deal about the research but from what I've learned I'm enthusiastic about being a part of it.

That's cool Michael. Be sure to post up any information you find out about the research.

Hey Micheal,
Any how are the NEWTS IN SPAAAACE!

Hi Aaron,
As far as I know none are up right now. I'm raising a bunch of larvae and juveniles now that NASA needs to be 1 year old when they get them. I asked for a little more information about their experiments. I thought I could get the inside scoop. I try not to bug them to much.

Wow, Michael, you should definitely be proud! I sure would be.

I would be too! I would be very interested to hear about whatever you learn about that program.:happy:

Thank you for sharing with us!
Critter Mom

Here's a picture of one NASA sent back that was getting to big for them. Their is also a picture of P. waltl eggs in the roots of a water hyacinth.

Attachments

• waltlbig.jpg
    waltlbig.jpg
    47.5 KB · Views: 922
  • waltlegg.jpg
    waltlegg.jpg
    100.6 KB · Views: 654