Axolotl Morphing into salamander

MarieKarma1311

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Kylee
Hello Everyone,

I Have been keeping axolotls for the last 7 months now. I have 3 wild types, one albino, and one golden albino. My wild types are all related and came from the same clutch of eggs. I got to see the parents in their breeder tank at store and there was no question about it - they are axolotls. The particular store I went to did not sell salamanders, and all of my wild types have been growing into normal, healthy, beautiful axolotls... except for one.

Approximately two and a half weeks ago my axolotl Logan stopped eating. He got very skinny, lost his gills, crest, and tail fin. I removed him from the tank believing that he was very sick and starving to death. That's when I began to notice he was looking very different from his siblings. His gill stocks disappeared, and his eyes began to grow eyelids. Last night I was informed by a member on Caudata that he was morphing into a salamander.

Logan is currently sitting in a plastic container that is 12 x 7 inches. There is 1 inch of water in the container, just enough to cover him, and a raised platform leading out of the water onto a dry rock. Logan himself is only 5.5 inches long. He has not left the water so far, And I am still having difficulties getting him to eat. The temperature has been between 66 - 70 degrees F, or 19 - 21 degrees C over this last week. ( cooler at night and warmer in the day )

I have no experience with keeping salamanders, And as of this moment I do not have a terrarium set up for him. I plan on keeping him and I want to give him the best possible life he can have, I'm just not certain what to do as of this moment. I have heard that morphed axolotls don't live very long, What kind of a life expectancy are we looking at? This occurred naturally, and all of my axolotls that were in the same tank as him are perfectly normal and healthy.