Question: Controlled Environment?

AxalotMel

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Display Name
AxolotMel
Hi everyone!
I am new to the wonderful world of axolotls. I bought my first Axolotl over a week ago- Amber. My second was bought exactly a week later- Merlin. The first night they were put in the same tank, they mated! The next day, Amber was laying eggs all over the tank. I think we're up to about 160 or so eggs, but there got too many to count. They are attached to the plants, rocks and between the rocks too, so removing them would be interesting.
I was under the impression that axolotls needed a strict controlled environemt in order to mate and reproduce successfully? Temperature, water, maturity of the animals, light, water movement etc. Does this mean I'm doing everything 'perfectly,' or am I just lucky? Or are my axies just overenthusiastic? ;) I mean, they were together ONE DAY!

I am very used to looking after all kinds of animals, but this still seems daunting.
I have a few questions:
Should I remove the eggs, or the adults?
The adults are in a 2 foot long tank, and the only spare tank I have is 1 foot long- is that enough for all the babies?
I also have a white storage tub that is 2 foot by 1- could I use that for them?
When feeding the larvae, I read brine shrimp is ok- what are the requirements when feeding brine shrimp?
Finally, what is the minimum space requirement for newly hatched to juvenile axolotls?

Sorry there's so many questions, but I feel a little overwhelmed. I'm sure I can do this though, and am willing to do all possible for the survival of these precious little things. :rolleyes:
Thanks for any replies!

Hello and welcome to the world of rearing larvae!

It is easy to understand why you are overwhelmed, but you will find the answer to all of your questions here!

First, start at this page on breeding: http://www.axolotl.org/breeding.htm
It will lead you to the page on rearing: http://www.axolotl.org/rearing.htm