Euthanizing Juvenile

Zobug

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Zoe
I made a post about two weeks back about a severely bloated axolotl. I decided to let him continue on to see if he miraculously pulled through. I don't think he will. He's absolutely blown up like a balloon, and though he's eating and pooping, I can't imagine his quality of life with remain steadily decent. It might not even be decent now. I'm including a picture so I can get a general consensus on whether or not euthanasia is the best procedure for this unfortunate little fellow. :( And, if so, what the correct dosage of clove oil would be for him.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    52.9 KB · Views: 326
I'm not sure what is wrong with your little axolotl, but as the 'lump' seems to be growing I would also consider euthanasia. Here is a link that you can refer to, :- Caudata Culture Articles - Euthanasia

Out of curiosity, what has it been feeding on?

Hello Zoe,

I am not experienced enough to comment on the health of your axolotl. Safe to say I have never seen anything like it.
Neither have I had to consider euthansia with regards to any of my current animals. It has happened with a much loved pet cat several years ago, and this was on the advice of a vet.
I just want you to know that I understand that you are in a very difficult and unpleasant situation with your axolotl. It would be great if someone could tell you exactly what the problem is and exactly what to do about it, one way or another, but unfortunately that does not always happen. I would struggle with this sort of decision myself, torn between wanting to help the little one and feeling that perhaps it was already time to make a difficult decision, and want to offer my moral support in your current unpleasant situation.
Thinking of you at this difficult time.

This looks like it could be an internal deformity - I agree that euthanasia is probably the best option.