Fishless cycle + not crashing down the line

profdumbledore

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi everyone!

I'm a school teacher who purchased an axolotl for a class pet. So far, she's been tubbed, but I'm prepping to get her tank cycled very soon! I've done quite a bit of research but I have two questions I can't seem to find the answer to.

First, I am planning to do a fishless cycle using Dr. Tim's bacteria and ammonia. I understand this process involves testing the water once daily, but I am unable to test the water over the weekends since my tank is in my classroom. If I check Friday before leaving and right away on Monday when I return, will I still be able to successfully cycle my tank? I'm a little paranoid about this only because the breeder I got my axolotl from gave me a cycled filter (hurray) but all the bacteria died as a result of keeping her tubbed for an "acclimation period". When I cycle the tank I don't want the bacteria to die over the weekends. Any tips or thoughts are appreciated!

Second, I'm thinking ahead for school breaks. The next major break is spring break where I won't be able to access the building for a total of 9 days. I'm going to take my axolotl home and keep her tubbed during that time, no biggie, but what can I do to make sure the cycle doesn't crash while we're away without a waste source? I believe the breeder mentioned using a larger tub and bringing the filter with me (using it in the tub), but I'm not quite sure.

Thank you in advance for your help/advice! Matilda is doing great, just wanting to plan ahead so she isn't without a tank for longer than necessary.

Hi,
Hi everyone!

I'm a school teacher who purchased an axolotl for a class pet. So far, she's been tubbed, but I'm prepping to get her tank cycled very soon! I've done quite a bit of research but I have two questions I can't seem to find the answer to.