Fridging eggs?

kenya

Reaction score
Country
United States
Is it too dangerous to fridge axolotl eggs? I want to slow their development because I am going to be shipping most of them out. I also want to keep a closer eye on them. Just curious if fridge cold is just too cold.

I'd be a little apprehensive getting them any colder than 45F.

But high 40's is okay? I really just want to get them out of the tank, but a bin just in my room woudl be too warm. I'm afraid the ghost shrimp are messing with some of the eggs, and I need to count and organize them to get them ready for shipping. And anything to slow down development and buy myself some time will be great too. Looks like I need to test the temp in my fridge here. *Digs out digital probe*

I've kept them at around 49/50F for a few days without any problems.

Are daily 100% water changes while in the fridge sufficient for oxygen?

Hi there,

As I am new at all this I have been reading voraciously, and I came upon this wonderful article:
Ambystoma Genetic Stock Center in which the author describes fridging eggs for
the purpose of delaying development in order to ship them out. Just the ticket for you, I hope.
Good luck with it all. I am jealous!

floosy

Don't worry, the eggs will be fine. The daily water changes coupled with the cold ensures a higher concentration of dissolved oxygen.

Are daily 100% water changes while in the fridge sufficient for oxygen?

I did not know it is necessary to change the water at all for eggs?

-Eva

Do also remove any dud eggs as well that you see are turning cloudy. They will foul the water.

Fridging eggs is not quite as trouble free as a quick read of the above posts indicate. It is fine to refridgerate eggs which have reached the blastocyst stage and probably any egg which has undergone a few divisions.