Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Illness/Sickness: Fungus on Eastern Newt

astamir

Reaction score
Hello,
Well odd as it may seem I have had my three newts (two firebellys and one eastern) for 14 years now, and this is my first time on this site! Irresponsible as it may seem, I never bothered to really research proper newt care, and kind of just did what I thought made sense. I keep about a gallon of water in the tank, and have a filter going. I clean the tank about once a month (take the newts out, soak everything in hot water, and scrub it down.) They all pretty much stick to the land (it's about half land and half water) and I never thought that this was a bad thing until I came here and started reading about it! All that aside, the reason for my post is that my eastern newt (Gingrich) has developed these dark stripes on the side of his head that are worrisome because they didn't used to be there. I first noticed them about 8 months ago, and actually got so worried that I took him to an exotic pet vetrinarian. At that point there was dead skin kind of hanging off of the dark patches (although he was not shedding at the time) and that was what made me feel like I needed to do something about it. My experience at the veterinarians was not super positive. First of all she seemed like she was about 20 years old (in any case she was young enough that she obviously didn't have years and years of experience). Secondly, the first thing that she did was to pick Gingrich up, grasping him firmly, (just about giving me heart failure, since I try not to handle them at all unless absolutely necessary) and start rubbing at the side of his head with a Q-tip! The dead skin came off and Gingri