Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Help: Terrarium A/C idea

Syotos

Reaction score
Hey all, I was wondering if you guys could help me with an idea I've been playing around with for a few weeks. I saw another forum post here that came close to this and was hoping to build off of it. I had an idea of using a wine cooler, drilling a hole in the front glass and running an insulated tube from the fridge in to my terrarium to pump colder air in to make the sal more comfortable in hotter months/colder months when house heating is on. I'm not an engineer or whatever and I don't know exactly how refrigerators work with humidity but was hoping that I could find a temperature setting on the refrigerator that would keep the terrarium in the 60s just by pumping the cold air into the terrarium. No idea how much power this would use to run the wine refrigerator or how exactly to better insulate the terrarium without cutting the oxygen supply. Anyone try anything like this or had any other ideas? Having not seen any solid ideas other then freezing everyone in the house with the house A/C that people can buy/do fairly easy to cool off our spotted friends I was hoping we could get a think tank going and hopefully figure this out once and for all.

Syotos

Reaction score