Is my axolotl stressed?

DoNotDisturb

Reaction score
Country
United States
Alright, I know I'm not a professional. But I have a pet axolotl and he's been alright for a while. But just recently, my mom threw away my axolotl's blackworms because she thought they were gross, and instead bought a bunch of random axolotl pellets she found online, and none of this was with me knowing. Of course, I was mad, and my axolotl hated the pellets just as much as I did. His gills started curling, and a lot of the time his gills curled extremely much more than usual. My water quality has always been good, and he's never been showing these signs before. He's been hiding a lot now, and even though I have persuaded my mother to allow me to feed blackworms to him again, my axolotl still is showing curled gills. While he's eating well, and seems alright, his gills are curled much more than normal, which I found out was a sign of an unhappy axolotl. My axolotl has always been alright before, so what in the world has happened? What should I do?
IMG_20220516_165656.jpg

Is that a picture of your little guy with curled gills? If so, it doesn't look like a stress curl. If you say he's eating well, then he's almost certainly not stressed. Inappetence usually is the first sign something is wrong.

it doesnt look to stressed. if you are concerned then maybe turning your filter flow down a little.

Is that a picture of your little guy with curled gills? If so, it doesn't look like a stress curl. If you say he's eating well, then he's almost certainly not stressed. Inappetence usually is the first sign something is wrong.
Alright, thanks! Then why would this be happening?

Yes probably either the flow, the temp, or he/she just has nice heavy gills!

to properly say whether he/she is suffering would need a much closer picture to be able to tell. from the picture that is shown he/she looks fine.