Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Is my Leucistic Axolotl suffering from Red Legs Syndrome?

Potatoman

Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first time posting here. Unfortunately, the Axolotl Facebook Group and Axolotl Reddit hasn't been helping me whatsoever with my potentially sick axolotl. Anyways, I just became a new Axolotl owner a month or so ago. Everything has been going fine, until my axolotl, named Skippy, jumped out of my hands when I changed him to another tub, it took a one foot drop onto the ground last Saturday. Skippy's tail was the only part of his body, that was oozing blood. He seemed to have recovered from the accident, as he was happily eating blood worms the next day. But this has drastically changed, Skippy's entire body has become pale as a ghost. I know a lot of people say it's a lack of blood flow, due to being inactive, but Skippy has been pale for a few days now, although Skippy has been eating normally.

As of yesterday, I became ridden with anxiety when I noticed Skippy's back legs had red spots, but it seemed the red spots disappeared in a few hours, so my eyes might be deceiving me.

In regards to Skippy's housing conditions, I've been keeping him in tubs for the time being, with 100% dechlorinated daily water changes, treated with API Stress Coat, the water temp stays at 60°F, until my aquarium fully cycled. Unfortunately, my fish tank got a crack in the bottom, so the water started to leak. And due to limited financial resources from being a full time college student, I have to keep Skippy in plastic tubs, until I can afford an aquarium.

Regardless, does my axolotl seem to have red leg syndrome? And if so, what can I do? Thank you!

Attachments