Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Newts senses

Autumncrossing

Reaction score
Hi everyone! Some more questions here, they might seem a little silly but I'm new to the newts so please bear with me :eek:. I know that newts are supposed to be nocturnal so why then did I find my eastern red spotted eft walking down a mountain path in broad day light? Another thing they also seem to hunt really well in the day time when I throw in crickets they usually don't miss. Also how good is their hearing and eye sight in comparison to ours? On another topic here I just bought a little thermometer and humidity gauge, what are the ideal levels throughout the year for Notophthalmus viridescens? Thanks again for your help!!:D

Chinadog

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
I'm not sure all newts are nocturnal as such, I think if the conditions are right most will venture out and hunt at any time. Newts are quite toxic, Red efts especially are so poisonous, that they would probably kill anything that tried to eat them, so there's no need for them to sneak about only at night. It's true that newts aren't often seen on land, but once mature, many species return to the ponds to breed in the spring and summer and do a large part of their feeding in the water where they can be seen swimming up for air and going about their business at any time of day.
As far as senses go, they seem to have good eyesight and an excellent sense of smell, I'm not sure about hearing, but they seem to be able to pick up vibrations in the water quite well.

Autumncrossing

Reaction score