Test kit question.

evut

Active member
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
979
Reaction score
41
Points
28
Location
Hertfordshire, England
Country
Czech_Republic
Display Name
Eva
I don't know the ones on the website but I recently got Nutrafin Kit
Aquatic - Products
which I think is good value if you can get it. (About £17 in the UK on Ebay)
 

legardored

New member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Country
Slovak Republic
i would go with the first one 'easy test' 5 in 1. it has all the major indicators you would need and it should give you a good idea how the tank is cycling. i use the tetra 6 in 1 strips that have Cl test in addition. these strips are fairly accurate but are generaly OK.
 

grius

New member
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
591
Reaction score
21
Points
0
Location
Sweden
Country
Sweden
legardored

What i can see there is no ammoni test in the first product on that list?

Eva

I cant get my hand on exact that produkt, but i will buy a testkit that dont use stripes instead. I want to be sure i get fair results.
 
Last edited:

legardored

New member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Country
Slovak Republic
the ammonia is first stage of three in the cycling process. in a cycled tank the levels of ammonia and nitrite (when the bacteria change the ammonia into nitrite) should be zero. a test for ammonia you would require only to follow the full cycle as if your nitrite levels are zero you can presume the ammonia to be zero as well.

so basically you can buy an ammonia test but that kit is enough to have good results to cycle the tank unless you want to make the measurement everyday and follow the whole cycle in detail.

have a read through the link below that describes the usage of the ammonia, nitrite and nitrate test and has a good description of the full cycle as well.

Beginner FAQ: Test Kits

btw. the stips test are accurate enough for your purpose.
 

grius

New member
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
591
Reaction score
21
Points
0
Location
Sweden
Country
Sweden
I actullay bougth this one yesterday wich was said to have ammonia test in it, but that turned out to be wrong so i shall return this kit.. or not?.

Aqua Quick Test

However the first result was not easy to see as the colours dident match po good.

NO3=0

NO2=0

pH= 7,2 i think.

I have had this tank going with dechlorinated water for about 3days now, a fluval 105 filter, an airstone and a circulation pump. Fine sand as substrate, some stones and roots from another small tank.

But an ammonia test seem to make it all easier. I have read that beginner FAQ.

"btw. the stips test are accurate enough for your purpose"

What do you meen by that?
 

grius

New member
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
591
Reaction score
21
Points
0
Location
Sweden
Country
Sweden

Its only a temporary tank during the time untill the larger one is build and cycled.. So not so much water to cycle (around 43Liter) 70x47cm with 13cm water dept. I shall also put in some plants.
 
Last edited:

legardored

New member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Country
Slovak Republic
you mentioned that you didn't want to buy tests with strips for the accuracy but i was saying that these are accurate enough for testing values in aquaria. i'm sorry if i misunderstood and confused you :)

and if you want to cycle the water you need something to produce the ammonia in the first place and the plants to finish the cycle utilizing the nitrates. in the link below is info how to cycle a tank.

Beginner FAQ: The Nitrogen Cycle
 

grius

New member
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
591
Reaction score
21
Points
0
Location
Sweden
Country
Sweden
you mentioned that you didn't want to buy tests with strips for the accuracy but i was saying that these are accurate enough for testing values in aquaria. i'm sorry if i misunderstood and confused you :)

and if you want to cycle the water you need something to produce the ammonia in the first place and the plants to finish the cycle utilizing the nitrates. in the link below is info how to cycle a tank.

Beginner FAQ: The Nitrogen Cycle

I understand, i just think accurate ´enought` dont sound safe enought :)?mean that i want to have so exact test value as possible to be 100% sure. But maybe they will do, i dont know a thing about those tests.

Im getting ammonia testkit to make it the way i have read, even if your way works as fine. Otherwize i will only get confused.
 

grius

New member
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
591
Reaction score
21
Points
0
Location
Sweden
Country
Sweden
I will have an ammonia test in only 2-3days that i just bought from a friend so i can start cycle soon :) And i think i keep the other Testkit too
 

grius

New member
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
591
Reaction score
21
Points
0
Location
Sweden
Country
Sweden
I was wonder. My dad talked to a friend that works with chemicals/water test etc. So he will give me tests for NO3-N02- pH and a bottle of pure ammonia. I was thinking about that kind of cycle, using ammonia instead for fish or food. And if i do exacly as this page says with 10gallon (to make it easy) i cant see any diference and maybe a faster cycle.

But If you dont recomend this method please tell me wy. If done careful, what is then the diference compare using food?

Cycling Your Aquarium, Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle: Start Cycling Aquarium Guide
 
Last edited:

legardored

New member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Country
Slovak Republic
so far i only cycled my tanks using the 1st method but the 2nd seems reasonable, as well. just make sure to do the tests regularly and watch the amount of ammonia drops :)

anyway, the only way to really speed up the cycling process is to you 'old' water from a cycled tank.
 

grius

New member
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
591
Reaction score
21
Points
0
Location
Sweden
Country
Sweden
I will try this and test just as it says on the page. Same amount water and temperatur with 3-5drops daily and then 2-3 depending on what the result says:) But that i have had it runing for 4days wount be a probleme?
 

legardored

New member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Country
Slovak Republic
no it is better acctually because you can be sure that any Cl has vanished.

before you add the ammonia do a first test. the readings should be zero. then you can try after a couple of hours you add the ammonia to see the results that should have clear ammonia reading.

keep us posted on the results as i've never seen anybody to cycle an aquarium like this and i wonder how long till you finish the whole cycle. it might take the same time as with the other methods :)
 

grius

New member
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
591
Reaction score
21
Points
0
Location
Sweden
Country
Sweden
Sounds good:)
I shall keep you updated. And hopfully i have a cycled tank in some weeks.
 

grius

New member
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
591
Reaction score
21
Points
0
Location
Sweden
Country
Sweden
Last edited:

ayushmhr

New member
Joined
Aug 3, 2018
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Bagmati
Country
Nepal
Hello.
I don't recommend using Ammonia Strips for Testing water of any type of strips. They are not accurate enough for testing aquarium water. But are perfect for Lab work. I have compared a liquid formula and the paper as well. the liquid will give you a perfect result.
I have been using API Master test kit to test my aquarium water. It contains all the test kits that you require. I purchase it from Amazon and cost me around $20 at the moment.
API FRESHWATER MASTER TEST
This kit is very much important in the Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle.
You will not regrate buying this kit.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Mark.H:
    Great! I'll use some of those too. Thanks for the help. :)
    +1
    Unlike
  • Tinky:
    So everywhere talks about testing your water parameters but I can't find what to do it there aren't right?! Like too low not too high, anybody any ideas?
    +1
    Unlike
  • jnerdx:
    It’s very dry in Colorado. I make sure to spritz every night so while I’m sleeping. I have a nifty hydrometer that I got from Walmart. It tells me blue, green, red; too little humid, good, too much respectively. It’s been helpful to me.
    +1
    Unlike
  • jnerdx:
    It tells me temperature AND humidity.
    +1
    Unlike
  • MVM1991:
    Where'd you get that? Or is it just a combo from petsmart or something?
    +1
    Unlike
  • jnerdx:
    I’m pretty sure I got it at a Walmart.
    +1
    Unlike
  • jnerdx:
    I just looked it up to see if I can find it again. It’s actually a hyGROmeter and temperature. Which measures the dew point. Here is the difference between due point and humidity. https://www.weather.gov/arx/why_dewpoint_vs_humidityYou can calculate Th relative
    +1
    Unlike
  • jnerdx:
    the relative humidity using the dew point measurement.
    +1
    Unlike
  • jnerdx:
    Here is the product I purchased:
    +1
    Unlike
  • Unlike
  • jnerdx:
    +1
    Unlike
  • jnerdx:
    it has a stand. And I had a spare suction from my filter. So it’s on the wall of my Sal’s enclosure.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Unlike
  • jnerdx:
    That’s a pic of it in the enclosure.
    +1
    Unlike
  • MVM1991:
    Nice! Also, from what I can see you have an amazing setup! What species?
    +1
    Unlike
  • jnerdx:
    S. S. Gigliolli
    +1
    Unlike
  • MVM1991:
    Ooo nice!
    +1
    Unlike
  • jnerdx:
    Thank you! I tried to share the video but unsuccessful. You can see it on my IG story @jnerdx
    +1
    Unlike
  • MVM1991:
    Cool! I just have a tiger and a long tail, who we are trying to find as he ESCAPED INTO MY ROOM!
    +2
    Unlike
  • LauraLobster:
    Hey y'all, recently my juvenile axolotl's tail has been floating and can swim down but his tail lifts to an angle and I believe that it is stressing him out. He gets in between his plants to balance himself and I am cleaning out the bottom of the tank with my baster. I believe I overfed him and he also may have eaten many air bubbles. He's been like this for nearly 1 1/2 days.
    +1
    Unlike
  • LauraLobster:
    What would be the best thing to do ?
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    Redear has joined the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Mark.H:
    Hey, does anyone know if hot glue is fine to glue rocks together?
    +1
    Unlike
  • MVM1991:
    Should be. Hot glue is good when dry I believe, just don't let it get too hot and you should be good. Most super glues are good as well just watch out for flume warnings
    +2
    Unlike
  • Mark.H:
    Ok, thanks! I am going to glue together the shale I mentioned.
    +1
    Unlike
    Mark.H: Ok, thanks! I am going to glue together the shale I mentioned. +1
    Top