Water Softener

blueberlin

2010 Research Grant Donor
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
1,939
Reaction score
50
Points
0
Age
50
Location
Illinois
Country
United States
Display Name
Eva
Hi all,

The house I am looking at moving to has a water softener placed between the house's water main and all of the house's internal pipes. I remember vaguely from when I lived in the states that a water softener uses salts ? to soften the water, so that the water is poisonous to plants. I am looking for input about how this would affect an aquarium. The few posts I have been able to find on the forum have suggested curcumventing the water softener. This leads me to think that it would indeed be poisonous to newts, too - correct?

-Eva
 

Jennewt

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
12,415
Reaction score
96
Points
48
Location
USA
Country
United States
A water softener removes calcium and replaces it with sodium, so you end up with water that is lightly salted and calcium-depleted. I don't think it would be toxic to newts, but it certainly wouldn't be the best kind of water for them. I agree that it would be best if you can circumvent it.
 

oceanblue

New member
Joined
Sep 27, 2007
Messages
654
Reaction score
49
Points
0
Location
Brecon beacons
Country
Wales
Jennewt has accurately described what water softeners do. You can add in a bit of calcium as calcium chloride to your water and other salts to convert your water to a modified Holtfreters solution but getting an unsoftened feed is recommended for human drinking as well as newts.

Epidemiological studies link hard water with good health and the salt load in artificially softened water can significantly raise human salt intake as well as cutting calcium.

Softened water is fine for washing machines and immersion heaters, but bypass this gadget for drinking if you can.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jan

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Joined
Mar 10, 2003
Messages
14,466
Reaction score
96
Points
0
Location
North Dakota
Country
United States
Display Name
Kaysie
Look to see if there's an external faucet (for hoses and such in the garden) that has bypassed the water softener. This is what I did at my parent's house.
 

blueberlin

2010 Research Grant Donor
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
1,939
Reaction score
50
Points
0
Age
50
Location
Illinois
Country
United States
Display Name
Eva
Thanks so much, everyone. It's still all theoretical for me at this point because the house is in Illinois and I am still in Berlin, but it has been a point of concern for me. Now I know what to look for. Thank you!

-Eva
 

SludgeMunkey

New member
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
2,299
Reaction score
73
Points
0
Location
Bellevue, Nebraska
Country
United States
Display Name
Johnny O. Farnen
Most, if not all permanent install water softeners like the one you describe have a bypass loop integral so that one can change out filters and the like without having to shut off the entire supply to the house. Merely switch the valve over to "bypass" and then let your tap run for a bit to flush out the soft water. Or if you like, leave it bypassed, drain the exchange tower and not use it ever.
 

blueberlin

2010 Research Grant Donor
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
1,939
Reaction score
50
Points
0
Age
50
Location
Illinois
Country
United States
Display Name
Eva
So, it is slowly getting to the time where an inspector will view the house for me. As I am still here in Berlin, my brother will go along with the inspector. I have requested that the water quality be tested. I'm not really sure what else I can do at this point. It seems to me, after reading here, that it would make more sense to put smaller softeners directly behind the laundry and dish washers, rather than filter all water through it. I don't know whether that is a realistic plan, though.

-Eva
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Chat Bot:
    ChocoUniversa has left the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • ellarose:
    +1
    Unlike
  • ellarose:
    Go to the fishless cycle tab :)
    +1
    Unlike
  • MidgetMan:
    @tduzz, where do you live? Like roughly. What country are you in?
    +1
    Unlike
  • tduzz:
    @MidgetMan, Massachusetts but I can give anywhere in the new England area
    +1
    Unlike
  • AMurry24537:
    @ChocoUniversa, Buy some ammonia and an eyedropper from Walmart and a water test kit for ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates. Figure out (through testing) how many drops it will take to get the ammonia level to the test's maximum measurement. Add that same number of drops every 24 hours. Eventually, the ammonia will start to go down as it's converted to nitrites. Keep adding ammonia. The nitrite levels will spike for a while and then they too will start to go down as they convert to nitrates. These you get rid of by doing water changes, which you should be doing anyway throughout the process. Once all of these are at low levels, your aquarium is ready. It takes about a month, maybe two (mine took a month and a half). Be sure to add ammonia until the day of or the day before you add your axolotl.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Kmia_13:
    Hey guys, this is my first time using this so bear with me. I have an adult axie who looks like he’s developed some fungus on gills. It’s still really small and only on one part. I put him in a 10 gal quarantine tank with an Indian almond leaf. I want to give him a black tea bath but not sure if I can add my black tea to the tank with the Indian almond leaf in there. Any advice?
    +1
    Unlike
  • Gillygills:
    Hi, My axolotl has just started morphing, but has some fungal spot behind the gill.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Gillygills:
    Should I fridge therapy and salt wash? or will this not be wise when she is morphing.
    +1
    Unlike
  • BChen3695:
    Need help identifying what’s wrong with my axolotl
    +1
    Unlike
  • Unlike
  • Unlike
  • madcaplaughs:
    @BChen3695, what are your parameters and temp? The fact that they're raised bumps could indicate fungus or bacterial infection.
    +2
    Unlike
  • XxJennXx:
    Hi! I have recently gotten a spotted salamander. Did some research and found lots of info, but just wondering if they brumate in captivity! Thank you to anyone who can answer this ☺
    +1
    Unlike
  • Pookisoo:
    Hello its urgent!
    +1
    Unlike
  • Pookisoo:
    I have a tiger salamander and i got him as a gift , recently it looks like something has been eating at his tail! Almost like its dissolving..? Ive checked that there is no other bugs in the closure, ive also ben giving him salt baths but its inly getting worse. Sorry if its much hahaha im just super worried!😓
    +1
    Unlike
  • afmtgn:
    Hi @Pookisoo it seems to be a fungal disease
    +1
    Unlike
  • MVM1991:
    @XxJennXx, I don't believe so. They are closely related to tigers and my tiger doesn't brumate. I think first year they might but after they see they aren't needing to, they should be good. They might try and hibernate to, mine did for the first year but now I see him crawling around right now.
    +1
    Unlike
  • XxJennXx:
    @MVM1991, ok thanks :)
    +1
    Unlike
  • Pookisoo:
    @afmtgn, is there anything i can do about it?
    +1
    Unlike
  • RG:
    @Pookisoo, The refrigerator is a good hospital for tigers.Temperature between 7 and 2 degrees Celsius can stop bacteria. If necessary or if you dare 0 to -2 can also help.Reduce the temperature in a few days from 7 degrees to 2. After that you can reduce further. Feel free to let it sit for a few weeks. Place the animal in a plastic container with a lid with some air holes. Fill it with some soil and / or leaves. Check regularly whether there is still moisture or ice in this container. At temperatures above 2 degrees, they do not go into hibernation. They will then live on their reserves. Doing nothing is not an option, I speak from experience. You can avoid these kinds of problems by keeping them fairly dry for much of the year.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Paige1warren:
    Hi guys! I’m new to this site and a new axolotl owner. I’ve had my baby (his name is toothpick) for about a month or so now. I finally got a water testing kit and I tested the perimeters earlier today. My ammonia was at 3 ppm and my nitrite was at 2 ppm. This freaked me out because I know they are supposed to be at 0 ppm. I did a water change a little bit ago and it went down to ammonia 1 ppm and in between 1-2 ppm nitrate. I change 50% of my water weekly and clean up any pieces of waste or excess food with a turkey bastwr everyday. Could this just be because the tank isn’t fully cycled yet? Should I be concerned? Toothpick hasn’t shown any signs of distress
    +1
    Unlike
  • Pookisoo:
    @RG, yeah.. im a new owner and i thought just giving salt baths would work, Thank you so much for this tho!🤗
    +1
    Unlike
  • Pookisoo:
    Sorry again... but when i take him out is he supposed to be moving funny..? Sorry hahaha🤕
    +1
    Unlike
  • madcaplaughs:
    @Paige1warren You need to tub your axolotl and perform 100% daily water changes. Your tank is not fully cycled, and any readings of ammonia or nitrite are toxic and potentially deadly. A fully cycled tank should at all times have readings of 0ppm ammonia/0ppm nitrite/0pmm<nitrate.
    +1
    Unlike
    madcaplaughs: @Paige1warren You need to tub your axolotl and perform 100% daily water changes. Your tank is... +1
    Top