White fungus?

ShaneZampire

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am totally new to aquariums and axolotls so I have a few questions. A summery of how I got here tonight.

Toward the end of February, my 12 year old son bought an aquarium and everything he thought he would need. March 1st he bought 2 axolotls at Repticon and added them. We added live bacteria, and all that. First and second week our ammonia was up to about .5 for a couple days then dropped off as our nitrites went up to about 3.0 to 5.0 for a few days. Then the nitrites dropped off and nitrates went up a little. We have lots of plants. We do 20% - 25% water changes anywhere from 2 a day to once every 2 - 3 days right now.

Everything has seemed to be going perfect till the past 4-5 days. The black one looks to have just lost most the gills on one side and the white one had white on the tips of one that now has jumped to 2 and maybe 3. We started salt baths 3 days ago and they may be getting better? We have been using a cotton swab gently removing what it will allow us to in the salt baths.

My questions are...
Is this the common fungus that axolotls get?
Is the fungus in the aquarium now?
Can we add anything to aquarium to rid it of it?
Do I need to fridge them?

Are we even doing everything right? His set up is listed below..

20 Gallon Long with about a 5 gallon aquaponic to help remove ammonia, nitrates and help with good bacteria
Slate tile bottom
Canister filter with foam, ceramic, and filter floss
2 bio foam filters
HOB filter
All low flow as to not make currents
Ammonia seems to stay below .25 at all times
Nitrites usually below 1.0 but has jumped up to 3.0 last few days (been using Prime till it drops back safer)
Nitrates usually stay between 20 - 40
GH 150
KH 20 (think its low)
PH 6.5 - 6.8
Water temperature stays between 66F - 70F (it did get about 72 during a couple hot days recently)
Diet - worms, sinking pellets, an occasional fish or shrimp