lost gills

Will Glover

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
_44322881_axolotl_frills203.jpg
_44322884_axolotl_203.jpg

I got 'Dilly' in Aug 2007 looking like an Axolotl. (Left Hand Pic)
Today it looks like the picture on the right.
I thought it had been fighting with it's larger friend, as they were both in the same tank,
and had it's gills bitten off. It seems I was wrong and it has started 'morphing'.
I've put it in it's own tank and lowered the water level and added a log island.
So it can get itself out of the water.
I'm very new to this so I'd welcome any comments

invertkurt

Reaction score
Country
United States
If it is in fact morphing it will be a fully terrestrial adult salamander. Scientists will argue about classification I'm sure, but consider it a Mexican tiger salamander. They should be kept in clean moist soil with some cover, a water dish, and prefer worms and soft bodied foods.

Also, check your water parameters. Axolotls do not normally morph unless there is a reason to, i. e. bad conditions, as they are essentially a fully-aquatic species.

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Kaysie
Axolotls have been known to morph naturally, and it is not always the result of poor water conditions (although this is usually the case).

Jake

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Jacob Bidinger
Will-do you have any more pictures of 'Dilly'? I saw the story about him that BBC did.

rick

2010 Research Grant Donor
Reaction score
Country
United States
morphed axi

_44322881_axolotl_frills203.jpg
_44322884_axolotl_203.jpg

I got 'Dilly' in Aug 2007 looking like an Axolotl. (Left Hand Pic)
Today it looks like the picture on the right.
I thought it had been fighting with it's larger friend, as they were both in the same tank,
and had it's gills bitten off. It seems I was wrong and it has started 'morphing'.
I've put it in it's own tank and lowered the water level and added a log island.